LOOKING TO THE FUTURE: INNOVATION, PHILANTHROPY, AND GLOBAL LEADERSHIP
BILL GATES
Peking University
March 24, 2017

中国的未来:创新、慈善与全球领导力
比尔·盖茨
北京大学
2017年3月24日

Thank you, Professor Lin. It’s great to be here today. Beida (Peking University) has a long history and I’m sure that, next year, as you celebrate its 120th anniversary, you will look back on the incredible contributions it has made to this country.

谢谢林教授。很高兴今天来到这里。北大有着悠久的历史,我相信在明年你们迎来120周年校庆之际,你们将回顾北大为中国做出的卓越贡献。

I’ve been coming to China since the early 1990s, initially for my work at Microsoft. Ten years ago, I was privileged to be named an honorary trustee here at Beida. I remember what a great time I had here in 2008 watching the Olympic table tennis semi-finals between China and South Korea.

自上世纪九十年代以来,我曾多次访问中国。最初,我来中国主要是因为微软的工作。十年前,我有幸成为北大荣誉校董;2008年奥运会期间,我在北大现场观看了中国队与韩国队的乒乓球半决赛,这给我留下了难忘的回忆。

As I’m sure you remember, China took the gold medal in every category—the men’s singles, the women’s singles, the men’s and women’s team events. That was on top of two silver and two bronze medals. For someone who’s as big of a fan of table tennis as I am, it was an incredible moment to witness.

大家可能还记得,当年中国队包揽了乒乓球男单、女单、男团、女团等各项金牌——还有两块银牌和两块铜牌。对于我这样的超级乒乓球迷来说,亲历赛场的感觉真是太棒了。

And it highlights in one way, the incredible potential China has. This is a country on a quest for excellence, not only to improve itself but to contribute to the whole world.

不过,这仅仅是我成为中国“粉丝”的一个小小的理由。更重要的是,中国是一个不断追求卓越的国度。

As China’s economy matures, it is making bold and difficult choices on challenges like energy and pollution. And China is assuming a greater role on critical global issues like climate and development. This matters now more than ever as the world navigates a time of change and uncertainty.

随着中国经济走向成熟,在应对能源和环境治理等自身挑战时,中国正在做出大胆的抉择,尽管这确实艰难。在气候变化和发展等全球重大议题上,中国也发挥着日益重要的作用。在这样一个快速变化的时代,世界面临着诸多不确定因素,中国的作用比以往任何时候都更重要。